The Simplest Way To Be Happy And Enjoy Life | Yoga 15

Abi Carver
3 min readMay 6, 2020

I heard a line on a podcast last week that has made an appreciable difference to my day-to-day life. In an interview with Tim Ferriss, the author Michael Lewis said, “I decided, at some point, that I was going to adopt, self-consciously as my narrative, that I’m the happiest person that anybody knows. It’s amazing how happy-inducing that is.”

He went on to say that he notices patterns in the way people talk about themselves. There’s the person who is always the victim…on the receiving end of some injustice. The person who paints himself as the hero. And the smart person who always delivers the clever put-down. There are many different versions.

He says that you have to be careful how you craft your narrative, because you are to some extent, also creating your character. For Michael, by self-identifying as a happy person, he has found that he experiences greater enjoyment in his life and relationships.

I’ve been experimenting with being the happiest person that anyone knows for the last couple of days and the effect has been profound. I’ve noticed that I’m happier more of the time, that I’m less concerned about minor personal struggles, like a sore shoulder, a problem in my business or a newly emerging wrinkle, and that I’m enjoying activities that I wouldn’t normally get so much of a kick out of. It…

--

--

Abi Carver

Creator of YOGA 15, Yoga for Athletic Performance and Recovery.