Hire Coaches, Not Therapists | Yoga 15

Abi Carver
2 min readFeb 16, 2020

I’m broken. That’s what I used to tell myself. And now it’s so clear to me that I’m not. That I never was. And nor are you.

My friend Asho changed my mind. I was coming clean to her about my bulimia when I met her a few years ago and telling her how broken I was. She said, “you’re perfect.” It was the last thing I expected her to say. But for some reason, I believed her.

Zen monk, Shunryu Suzuki, said: “Each of you is perfect the way you are…and you can use a little improvement.”

COACHES TAKE YOU WHERE YOU CAN’T TAKE YOURSELF

“It is easier to act yourself into a new way of thinking, than it is to think yourself into a new way of acting.” Millard Fuller

Over Christmas, I decided to write my own 12 Rules For Life instead of making New Year’s resolutions. (h/t to Jordan B Peterson).

Rule 6 is: Hire coaches not therapists. I don’t believe this is a universal rule. I know that therapy can be wonderfully beneficial and effective for many people. But for my temperament, coaches are a more healthy choice. And that’s because I’m not broken…and I could use a little improvement.

I’ve had a couple of therapy sessions. The therapists were very supportive. They said that I had good reason to feel sorry for…

--

--

Abi Carver

Creator of YOGA 15, Yoga for Athletic Performance and Recovery.