Gas Up Your Friends | Yoga 15

Abi Carver
2 min readFeb 20, 2020

My brother is starting a new business. He has a great idea that he took me through last night. He began his pitch very enthusiastically but after only a few minutes, I realised that he was listing all the reasons it wouldn’t work. He doesn’t think he’s qualified, lacks belief in his own skills and is fearful of spending time on something that might not work out. In psychology, they call these “limiting beliefs” and they’re one of the reasons we don’t always live up to our potential. It makes sense. These beliefs are there to keep us safe. Like an over-protective mother shielding us from injury. But that doesn’t necessarily make them true.

“Argue for your limitations, and sure enough they’re yours.” Richard Bach

Unlike my brother, I’m not affected by these fears and misgivings. I can see objectively that he has all the skills he needs to make this business a success, so that is what I tell him. Without my encouragement, my fear is that he won’t get this project off the ground.

I realised today that I do this a lot. Gas up my friends. I tell them how great they are and how well they’re doing and that’s because I appreciate it so much when they do it to me. It short circuits that dream-crushing “limiting belief” mechanism. It’s lubrication for action.

--

--

Abi Carver

Creator of YOGA 15, Yoga for Athletic Performance and Recovery.