31 Days Of Sobriety | Yoga 15

Abi Carver
2 min readFeb 23, 2020

Today marks 31 days of sobriety. I enjoy not drinking. I find that my thinking is clearer and my moods are lighter. I’m also partial to a mimosa with brunch or a glass of Sauvignon Touraine in the evening. Alcohol brings out a different side of me. One that is more playful and less intense.

“If you don’t want to slip. Don’t go where it’s slippery.” Alcoholics Anonymous

What I find interesting is that I didn’t have to think once in the last month about not drinking. And I didn’t expend any energy thinking about whether or not I minded waking up with a fuzzy head. And that’s because I’m in an environment where it just didn’t come up. I find it a lot harder to resist drinking when I’m around my family or friends I haven’t seen for a long time. I think it’s a nice aspect of being sociable but I’m also really enjoying this period of deprivation-free sobriety.

“Are the things around you helping you toward success — or are they holding you back?” W. Clement Stone

I find this to be one of the advantages of never living in one place for more than a month or so. It’s not really possible for bad habits to grow roots, as automated behaviour is so contextual. Each time I move, I’m intentional about setting up my environment to make it easy to do the things I say I want to do and hard to do the things that I don’t-and that’s because I have the breaking strain of a Kit-Kat.

“Lead me not into temptation; I can find the way myself.” Rita Mae Brown

If you do want to try sobriety, my friend Chris has a program to support you in your endeavours.

Originally published at https://yoga15.com on February 23, 2020.

--

--

Abi Carver

Creator of YOGA 15, Yoga for Athletic Performance and Recovery.